14 October 2022

What is Diwali?

Diwali or Deepavali (row of lamps), also known as ‘The Festival of Lights’, is an important ancient Indian festival celebrated throughout the world.

During the five-day celebration, the height of which is celebrated on the third day coinciding with the darkest night of the lunar month, Diwali signifies the triumph of light over darkness, good over evil, and the renewal of life with the lighting of clay lamps.


The Lotus Flower

The lotus is a sacred flower in Hinduism. It is said that Lord Brahma once emerged from the navel of Lord Vishnu sitting on a lotus. Goddess Lakshmi (the goddess of wealth) is often depicted with a lotus, as are other Hindu deities who usually hold the flower.

The lotus flower symbolises beauty, prosperity, and fertility. It is often offered in prayer to Hindu Gods.

Day One: Dhanteras

Diwali begins with the first day known as ‘Dhanteras’ or the worship of wealth. Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped on this day and there is a custom to purchase something precious. People clean and decorate their homes.


Day 2: Naraka Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali

The second day is Naraka Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali. People wake up early and apply aromatic oils on them before taking a bath. This is said to remove all sins and impurities. They wear new clothes, offer Puja and enjoy by lighting diyas and bursting few crackers.


Day 3: Lakshmi Puja

The third day is the main Diwali festival. Lakshmi Puja is performed on this day. Goddess Lakshmi is believed to enter homes and bless people with good fortune. Tiny oil diyas, candles and electric lights are placed around the house. Families exchange gifts and gather together to burst crackers.

Day 4: Govardhan Puja or Padva

The fourth day is Govardhan Puja or Padva. It is the day when Lord Krishna defeated Indra by lifting the huge Govardhan Mountain. People make a small hillock, usually of cow dung, symbolising Govardhan and worship it.

Day 5: Bhai Dooj

The fifth and last day is Bhai Dooj. On this day sisters invite their brothers for a lavish meal and perform a ‘tilak’ ceremony. Sisters pray for their brother’s long and happy life while the brothers give gifts to their sisters.


Learn more about the 5 days of Diwali by following our Lotus trail around the centre.

Lotus one: Level 1, near Strandbags

Lotus two: Level 1, near MECCA

Lotus three: Near Farmers, ground floor

Lotus four: Outside JD Sports

Lotus five: Near Stirling Sports